Kitchen disaster

Last Sunday I was mulling wine for my choir’s Advent concert like every year. The mulled wine boiled over slightly and I didn’t think much of it – until I realised it had tripped the fuse. Turns out wine had somehow gotten through the old seal at the front and into the controls, shorting the hob out.

 

Great.

 

Cue a frantic call and transfer of 14l of half-mulled wine to a friend nearby to finish the job. I figured letting the stove dry overnight might do the trick.

Not so. It was still shorting out everything in the morning.

img_1965

Now, I’ve never liked the look of this kitchen and I’ve never liked this stove. HOWEVER an entire kitchen remodel is expensive and it’s three weeks until Christmas – where we will have all the family over for dinner. Cue panic!

I did not like the stove for a myriad of reasons – I dislike the grill/oven separation, the oven heated really unevenly, the sizes of rings on the hob were not great, the oven door has a side hinge which is impractical in such a small kitchen and the oven was way too low. So a kitchen remodel has been on the cards since the beginning and I had already looked out a new hob and built in oven that I want. So I gritted my teeth, dug into my savings (savings! make them, people!) and ordered these two:

hob

an induction hob because I love my mother’s and they combine the best of electric and gas hobs and

oven

a proper self cleaning built in oven. Again very similar to my mother’s and something I have wanted for a while.

The main problem is that they are both built in – meaning we need to close that gap in the counter top for the hob to sit on. So the current plan is to get the cheapest IKEA counter top and a very cheap oven cabinet and rig up something practical, if not pretty, for the holiday period and beyond until we’ve saved up for the remodel.

 

This is how I eventually envision the kitchen:

The empty space in the corner won’t be empty – the counter would go all the way around and there will be a sink in the corner, with the bins underneath. This remodel features a dishwasher and a hopefully more sensible distribution of things, as well as new flooring (it’s not actually as filthy as it looks in the photo above – the black tiles are just that chipped!) and walls that aren’t zombie coloured!

 

What do you think? What are your ideas for a dinky kitchen only 5.6m2?

3 thoughts on “Kitchen disaster

Leave a Reply

